Anghel Leonard

What Do You Do? What is Your Job?

I currently work as a Java Chief Software Architect.

How Did You Get to Where You Are?

I’ve started as a Junior Java Developer 16 years ago. Since then, Ive been a big fan of Java ecosystem. Outside my job, I’m fan of sports, especially tennis, but I like to read and build stuff as well.

How did you come by Payara Server/Micro?

Well, I started paying attention to the events flow when Oracle announced that it will no longer support GlassFish commercial edition. I was using GlassFish commercial and open source editions for most of the projects that I was involved in including authoring books, articles and so on. Then I heard about the Payara project and I started to follow the story. Since then, I’m constantly using and reading posts, articles, twits, and so on about Payara Server/Micro editions.

How Are You Using Payara Server/Payara Micro Now?

I’m using Payara Server as my favorite choice in my books, articles, blogs and so on. Now, I’m using Payara Server in a Spring Boot e-commerce application that it is currently under development. The application will run as a WAR under Payara Server.

Any Plans for Evolving Your Project Further?

Currently, my position allows me to be part of the team that can decide what technologies are used in a project. When it comes to application servers, I’m always having Payara Server on my list as a potential proposal.

What Are The Payara Server/Payara Micro Features You Find Most Useful for Your Project?

I will pick up Hazelcast support, powerful CLI and asadmin recorder service as my favorites.

Anything You’d Like to See in the Payara Platform That Isn’t There Yet?